Worship Recap and Set List: August 23, 2009

This Blog takes part in Sunday Setlists at FredMcKinnon.com.  Come check out the fun and see how God is moving in His people around the world and how other churches have been worshipping this week.

Recap: Sunday was the first message in a two week series we are doing based on The Shack.  Jeff Campbell, one of the leaders at Fellowship Holden, really hit home that we all have a “shack,” a place of suffering or let down in our life.  If you weren’t there, check it out at the Fellowship Church online campus.  It was very powerful and challenging.

Worship was great, and for me was particularly exciting.  “Why?” you may ask!  well, this was the second week in a row that I really felt like I was part of the worship experience, not just leading and conducting from the stage.  It has been so refreshing to finally come to a point where I let go of my concerns for the operations of the morning, I let go of trying to ensure that everything and everyone follows the “plan” I constructed for this week.  God has really been working on me in this area. 

God has reminded me that I need to not just be a worship leader, but be, as I think Matt Redman put it, a Lead Worshipper.  Someone who isn’t just show, but is truly a worshipper.  Not someone standing on a stage, but who in spirit stnads along side of his brothers and sisters worshipping and glorifying the King of Glory.   I have had my attention centered on our King, Jesus!  It has been so incredible. 

 There were a few hiccups throughout the service.  We had some feedback when Jeff began speaking, and some fails before the service bagan, but Phil our sound director worked his tail off to get in line.  I had the privilege of having my brother, Christian, playing lead guitar with our band this week.  I love playing with him, because he tends to bring fire down when he plays.  It’s also pretty cool to have your younger brother up there worshipping and leading along with you.

Setlist:

  • Opened with King – Tree63
  • From the Inside Out – Hillsong United
  • Above All – Susan Warren, one of our other worship leaders has a killer voice, and many times brings incredible  harmonies to the songs, but she led this one and it was really moving to me.
  • I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For – U2:  We closed out the service with – I saw a bunch of people singing along, but I thought this song was so fitting in conjunction with the opening message for The Shack series.

Fellowship Church Holden is live online each Sunday morning at 10:30AM.  Come hang out with us here.

One Response to “Worship Recap and Set List: August 23, 2009”

  1. Claudiak55Kxwo.Beeplog.com Says:

    Hello i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere,
    when i read this article i thought i could also make comment due to this
    brilliant post.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

