One of the Best Days of My Life

This post is part of Randy Elrod’s Watercooler Wednesdays.  Check it out here.

That’s a bold statement,  I know.  But I will tell you that, with the exception of 4 things, Wednesday April 23, 2008 was by far one of the best days of my life.  The four events that would have to tqake precedent over Wednesday would be:

Wednesday, January 18, 1995 – This was the day i began a realtionship with Jesus Christ

Saturday, June 15, 2002 – The day I got married

Saturday May 7, 2005 – The day my first son was born

Friday September 21, 2007 – The day my second sone was born

Now, what you may be asking was so incredible that it would be up in line with those events?  That’s a great question.  First let me give you a hint…

What is one of the things that almost every son wants to do with their dad?

You probably guessed it.  A baseball game, or some proessional sporting event.  On Wednesday my dad took me, no one else but the 2 of us, to Fenway Park to watch the Boston Red Sox play.  Now this is the first time in 28 years that my dad has set up a time for he and I to attend a game. 

I’ve been to Sox games before, and my dad was there I believe, but he never took me to a game specifically to spend time with just me.  I think it must be every boy’s wish to spend the day hanging with his dad and watching a baseball game.

The game itself wasn’t that spectacualr, besides Big Papi’s first pitch, first swing homer in the fifth.  The Sox lost, which isn’t cool, but I didn’t care.  I didn’t care for 3 reasons, which you will find below in order of importance.

1. I was there with my dad.  He may not realize this, but any time I get to hang oput with my dad is incredible for me.  I think my dad is really cool, he knows a lot about a lot of stuff, and he really cares.

2. We had tickets in Field Box 16, which is about 5 rows up from the field, and about 50′ from first base.  I have never sat close in a game.  If you are going to see a game, that’s the place to sit, and it’s well worth the price.

3. The tickets were free.  Hence the idea that it was worth the price.

 

I’ll post a few more pics from our Boston trip later.

What is your best day you can remember?

Livin’ Out Loud,

Al

3 Responses to “One of the Best Days of My Life”

  1. park » Blog Archive » One of the Best Days of My Life Says:

    […] J-GER wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptOn Wednesday my dad took me, no one else but the 2 of us, to Fenway Park to watch the Boston Red Sox play. Now this is the first time in 28 years that my dad has set up a time for he and I to attend a game. … […]

  2. Audra Krell Says:

    This is such a great post. I teared up, I would love to go to a baseball game with my dad, but he walked out on us when I was 14. Now my best days consist of watching any one of my three sons play baseball or attending a Diamondbacks game with them. It is amazing that you wrote about this. The world needs more of this.

  3. aldancyspeaks Says:

    Audra,
    I’m glad you enjoyed it. I shared it, because (and I’m sure you could tell) this was a big deal to me. My dad and I have a good relationship, and I know without a shadow of doubt that he loves me so deeply, but we have never had any real moments that we got to
    connect.

    This was one of those moments. I was inspired by his lack of connecting to be sure that my sons never feel that way. Thanks again for your comment!

    Al


Leave a Reply

