Good Friends…Good Eats

This post is listed in Marty Holman’s  Monday Moments.

 

So, Erica, the boys, and I just spent most of my our night with Billy and his two daughters, Erynne and Emilie. We had a dinner guest who left ate and ran, but i won’t name any names…Darren!

Their mom was away at Orange Conference this week, which gave us an excuse to have them over. We don’t really need an excuse, but it got things planned for us.

See, Erica and I have this tendency where we don’t end up doing things with people unless we get plans nailed down. We’re great at keeping plans, but most times it’s difficult for us to make the plans.

Well, we had a blast. Erica made an incredible bath of her world famous Chicken Soup. Ohhhhh, to die for, and to think there are no leftovers!! Arrrgh!

The soup was awesome. Erynne ate most of hers, and Billy finished off what was left. Emilie was the Girrrrl tonight, as she pounded 2 bowls. What amazes me about Emilie’s feat is she is only 5. Wyatt had an entire bowl, and like two whole pieces of Italian bread. Liam, well…he had sweet potatoes and cereal.

The night didn’t end there! Oh no, it was just beginning. Well, the kids went off and played for a few minutes, while I helped clean up a little. Billy, Erica, and I went in to the living room, and then it all came down!

The three kids and I got into a huge wrestling match. See, wrestling and boxing matches are big events at our place. Wyatt and I get it going about 3-4 times per week. Sometimes twice a day! The kids were jumping off the couch on me, jumping on my head, tackling me on the ground, and all with the hopes that I would fight back and throw them around. I can still hear them laughing and giggling.

Erica and the kids then went off into the kitchen and made homemade chocolate chip cookies. Each of the kids got to make a batch. This went on while Billy and I chilled, talked about music, and played with Liam. Then a heaping pile of cookies and some very full glasses of milk were brought in, and we all got to share.

We settled in and watched Rudolph the Rednose Reindeer and the Toy Taker. (one of my favorites…not really!) We also had a streak of child mooning, a name calling contest. My favorite came from Emilie. Who called me, I believe, “a hair, nose, ear, head!” It was quite a contest.

We ended the night saying our goodbyes, and letting the kids fly atop our heads, with arms stretched our like Buzz Lightyear.

I write this to say “Thanks” to Billy and the girls for making this one of the best nights this week. Also, in realizing that life is not worth much if you don’t have good friends to share it with.

So, do you need to break out and start making some dinner plans, or play dates?

Don’t wait, get yourself locked down into something!

Do you think you can do it? Well, it’s worth it.

Livin’ Out Loud,

Al

3 Responses to “Good Friends…Good Eats”

  1. billydotcom Says:

    Should I be concerned that you had to wait till Colleen was away to make plans with us? I won’t tell her if their is…
    Thanks for opening your home/church… the girls talked about it all the way home and even while they were in bed waiting to fall asleep.
    Truly good times
    Billy

  2. aldancyspeaks Says:

    Billyam,
    Well, it shouldn’t have taken anyone being away. Erica and I just need to get’er done! I’m glad you all had a good time! Hope we all get together again soon.
    Al

  3. pastormarty Says:

    THanks for participating in Monday Moments Al. You the man.


Leave a Reply

