I am 10,511 days old today

This post takes part in Randy Elrod’s Watercooler Wednesdays.

I haven’t really had the drive to blog lately. Partly because life is very busy and partly because I have been in a little funk. I also think it is partly because I have been struck in my heart, and feel that I shouldn’t be using my company’s paid time to be doing non-work things. A little WWJD from the Holy Spirit maybe…Well, I am back in the game officially.

I have been sooooo busy lately, and have been trying to balance it all. Sometimes successfully, other times “not so much.” It is a cahllenge that I am truly excited about though, and I will certainly tell you why.

I calculated that I am 10,511 years old today. That calculation was, of course, with the help of this tool. Very, very interesting!

The idea that I will someday pass on, die, expire, is a bit morbid, and disturbing.  It is also one that can motivate. I realized that I have already spent many days of my life. According to most experts, I have lived just ove 1/3 of my days. 

So, I have dedicated myself to living the remainder of my days with passion, vision, and a true sense of making an impact for eternal things. I want my family to know I love them, my church to know that I would give anything I possibly could to help them, and I want to make an impact in this world for the Glory and Kingdom of God. I want every day I live to have some point to it, and I know God does too.

I am excited for 2 reasons:

Someday, I will pass from this scene, and stand face to face with the Saviour who loved me, and died the most painful death. And all the while He thought of me. I will finally be able to wrap my arms around His neck, and see Him for all He is. That will be the pinnacle of my life.

I am also excited, because in the meantime, I have a beautiful wife that I get to love and be loved by. I have 2 boys, and another little baby on the way, that I get to pour my soul, my heeart, my life into. All four with whom I get to spend a lifetime of heartache, love, passion, and a never ending pursuit of glorifying God together.

What in my life don’t I have to be excited about?

What are you excited about? How many days old are you, and how many do you plan living with purpose?

Finally Livin’ Out Loud Again,

Al

2 Responses to “I am 10,511 days old today”

  1. jeffsdeepthoughts Says:

    Al-
    #1) You rock.
    #2) I’d been missing your blogging.
    #3) As one voice from your church, I hope you know you know that we’d give whatever we’ve got for you, too.
    #4) I couldn’t follow this link from Watercooler Wednesdays. Unlike you I have no major issue with taking a few minutes of “company” time… but it could be the school’s internet connection, it is a little slow today.
    -Jeff

  2. Audra Krell Says:

    Well I’ve only got 20400 more days to go. I better make the best of them! : )


Leave a Reply

