Anniversaries

This post takes place in Randy Elrod’s Watercooler Wednesday

 

              

 Are you part of the 30/30 club?

Sunday, June 15, 2008 was not only Father’s Day, but mine and Erica’s 6th wedding anniversary.  I have to say that my Father’s Day was fabulous.  I got a gift from my boys, one from Erica, and an awesome handmade card that had a pic of me and the boys in it.

I felt our anniversary celebration was a bit less than stellar.  In fact, it was non-existent.  I was sad at first, but Erica and I had agreed that we wouldn’t celebrate that day.  What’s cool, is this put it in my court to “WoW” her with my planning ability, and my romanticity (is that a word?).

So, a friend of ours watched the boys, and we made our way out to dinner.  First stop was for me to get a hair cut.  Erica came with, and had some great insight as to how I should get it cut.  Here’s what we came up with:

Next we made our way over to O’Connors.  I had heard from multiple sources that this palce has “incredible food.”  O’Connors is an authentic Irish Pub. Offering the finest in Celtic fare; from the Guinness Pie, to Bangers and Mash, or Bacon and Cabbage.  One person described the place as “huge,” another said, “The portions are enormous.”

So, I had to see for myself.

When we got there, we noticed the unique styling and atmosphere. It was indeed “huge!”  The food was not only of monstrous proportions, but some of the most delicious I have ever had.  I highly recommend the Potato Pizza for an appetizer, or as a meal if you’re not sharing it.  The service was the most friendly, attentive, and sincere I have had in quite some time.

I’m sure you are wondering what the cost was…Well, you will be pleasantly surprised to hear that we walked away, tip included, for $51.00! That’s some good eats!!!

We will be going back often…or at least as often as our wallet allows.

Now you may be wondering why I titled today’s Blog “Anniversaries,” because you noticed the plurality. Well my friend…Good Question!  Below is why:

The gentleman in the tux is Dennis W.

NOTE: I am witholding his lastname to maintain his privacy.  I don’t want all the ladies out there trying to contact him or go looking for his myspace or facebook pages.

Anyways! Dennis celebrated a huge milestone on Wednesday as well.  He has been with UNUM for 35 years, and if that wasn’t enough…He mentioned to us that he was now part of the 30/30 club. Not to be confused with MLB’s 30/30 club.  This club, he went on to tell us, is when a person reaches 30 years of a career and at the same time 30 years of marriage.

He also explained that he recalls the first few years of marriage and his first few at the company as “some of my greatest years!”  Then he proceeded to tell us, a group of about 20 people, that he would have to say though, that the last few years since he has joined the 30/30 have been the “best years of my life.”

I dedicate this post to all the people out there that have toiled and persevered for many years in a career.  Dedicating themselves not to achieving greatness, but to being a great provider or example to their families.  I dedicate this to the countless, although it seems to be fewer nowadays, men and women who have fought hard to maintain their marriages, and keep their families together.

It must have been hard work Dennis, to go to work day after day.  There must ahve been some really difficult times that helped you recognize how great those good times really were. 

There must have been struggles you went through with your wife, and children.  You kept on going though, you kept on loving, you persevered.  I stand and salute your achievements my friend!

I can’t wait for the day I can be part of the 30/30 Club. 

How about you?

Livin’ Out Loud to 30/30 and Beyond!

Al

Posted in Family. Tags: . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Anniversaries”

  1. billydotcom Says:

    It will be a while till I am apart of the 30 30 club… I still need to find a career.


Leave a Reply

