What Matters Most?

Monday I wrote about a new book I’m reading.  “Every Monday Matters” is a challenge to take one of the most dreaded and down right awful days of the week and turn it into a day that matters.  Mondays would become a day to look forward to.   A day filled with excitement, and one that you are enthusiastic about starting eaching week.  Why?

Because you would be taking each Monday to attempt to make your life and that of the people around you different. 

This week I was challenged to list what is most important to me.  I have several things that I have determined are most important, but I’ll focus on the most important thing this post.  I broke down this “most” into a couple different parts.

Relationships: I believe relationships are one of the greatest gifts that God has given us.  It is certainly one of the innate desires that He has created us with.  Each one of us longs for other people to be on our side, another person or people to relate to and that relate to us.  Without relationships, life is lonely and would certainly be boring.  God understood this from the beginning of creation, and directly address is when He said, “It’s not good for man to be alone.”

God’s purpose was for mankind to have a relationship with Him and in turn with one another.  This is why I have chosen relationships to be the most important thing to me.

1. God – I want this to be the most important realtionship I have.  I want all other relationships to directly flow out of my relationship with God.  If I have intimacy with Him, the hope is that intimacy will flow into my other relationships.  It can be tough to keep this as the most important thing, but I will keep on trying and striving to make it numero uno.

2. Erica (My Wife) – She is the 2nd most important relationship I have.  There are many times that this realtionship is in competition with, and some times even takes priority over my relationship with God.  She is my partner for life, the one that knows me better than anyone else will or can, and she is the person that I have committed my heart, mind and body to.  We serve God together.  We raise our children and build our family together…Wow!  I could go on forever.

3. My Children – Wyatt, Liam and coming soon (12/04/08) Charlotte.  I want to have a great relationship with my children.  Not as their friend, althought I want them to feel as comfortable with me as they do their friends.  I want there to be a respect in our relationship, but more so I want there to be love.  I want them to experience the love of their father.  And I want that love they experience through our relationship to mirror the same love that the Heavenly Father has for them.  Again I want my relationship with God to flow into all others, and all my others to flow out of my relationship with God.

What’s most important to you?

Livin’ Out Loud,

Al

One Response to “What Matters Most?”

  1. dionne Says:

    great to have you back, can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings!


Leave a Reply

