Head Start on New Year’s Goals

Every new year, my wife and I escape for a part of a day together and set some goals together.  we set personal goals, family goals, financial goals, spiritual goals, etc.  We do this together, because it maitains unity between us, brings us a little closer in our thinking and planning, and it’s pretty fun too.

I was thinking that I would get a head start…not like this is a competition, but I’ll probably have mine done before her.  Heh, heh, heh!

I like goals, but I don’t love them.  I’m a very fly by the seat of my pants, spontaneous, live life in the now kind of guy.  I’m artsy, not extremely self-motivated, and self-describe myself as “chill.”  Ya know – nothing gets me too excited or bothered, and things can easily roll off my back.  No worries right!?!?

Since I am so, goals are very important.  I don’t love them, but I do like them.  I like looking giving the impression that I am responsible, prepared, and attentitive.  None of these could be accomplished if I did not set goals, which is why I like them.  I also like a challenge, and think that goals should be realistic, but should still drive and stretch you a bit further than last time.  So, I present to you my personal reading goal for 2009.

I’m not sure I have ever read this many books before, but Iwill try.  I really like antique books.  The broken in hardcover, cracked bindings, thoughts that wonder where this book has been before it was in my hands.  I have decided to attempt to read 20 of the “Classics.”  I found this list from a fellow blogger.

1. The Adventures of Huckleberry Fin by Mark Twain 

2. All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Remarque 

3. The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle 

4. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky 

5. Cry the Beloved Country by Alan Paton

6. Uncle Toms Cabin by Harriet Beacher Stowe 

7. Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes

8. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

9. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

10. Jane Eyre 1984 by Charlotte Bronte 

11. My Antonia by Willa Cather 

12. The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

13. The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane 

14. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

15. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austin

16. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens 

17. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

18. The Sound and the Furry by William Faulkner 

19. Tess of the D’urbervilles by Thomas Hardy

20. A Separate Peace by John Knowles  

This should be exciting.

How many of these have you read?

Livin’ Out Loud,

Al

5 Responses to “Head Start on New Year’s Goals”

  1. Ian Says:

    I’ve read:
    The Adventures of Huckleberry Fin
    The Complete Sherlock Holmes
    Crime and Punishment
    The Old Man and the Sea
    The Red Badge of Courage
    Robinson Crusoe
    Pride and Prejudice
    A Tale of Two Cities
    To Kill a Mockingbird
    A Separate Peace

  2. aldancyspeaks Says:

    Oh yeah, I read To Kill A Mocking Bird too. Any suggestions on a replacement?

  3. pastormarty Says:

    Huck Finn
    Crime and Punishment
    The Grapes of Wrath
    Robinson Crusoe
    The Red Badge of Courage
    A Tale of Two Cities
    A Separate Peace

    May I suggest reading some current books as well?

  4. aldancyspeaks Says:

    Thanks Marty. You may suggest that, but I may not take that suggestion. Actually, I will take it!

  5. Ian Says:

    I’d recommend something like King Lear by Shakespeare or David Copperfield by Charles Dickens.


Leave a Reply

